Bypass mode not finding any PCs

Have a question about Active Wall? Ask it here!

Bypass mode not finding any PCs

Postby biff64 » Mon Oct 03, 2011 9:00 am

Hi,

I'm hoping someone can help a newbie here.

I have a number of laptops, servers and computers on my home network some wired and some wireless.

I have inserted a hub into the network in order to be able use AWall in bypass mode.

I have several wired machines cabled to a switch
the switch and a wireless Access Point are connected to a hub, to which I have also connected the AWall laptop
Also attached to the hub is my broadband router

I am running the Free traffic monitor version of Awall, but it doesn't seem to find any of my machines. the only computer in the default group is the AWall machine.

I have configured the Ethernet Port of the awall laptop in the same subnet as the rest of my machines.

Can anyone explain what I've done wrong, or advise how I can monitor the traffic on each of my machines.
biff64
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 8:03 am

Re: Bypass mode not finding any PCs

Postby admin » Tue Oct 04, 2011 4:23 pm

1. Please be sure that is a hub but not switch.
2. You can try redirect mode on active wall.
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: Bypass mode not finding any PCs

Postby biff64 » Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:58 am

Thanks,

It is definately a hub, I have tried using wireshark on my laptop and that is capturing plenty of traffic from a variety of machines on my LAN when attached to this hub.

I'll try using the redirect option tonight.
biff64
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 8:03 am

Re: Bypass mode not finding any PCs

Postby biff64 » Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:31 am

I tried redirect mode last night but still no joy :(

Im beginning to wonder whether it is my laptop that is the problem, so I am building a new machine with two NICs which will hopefully solve the problem.
biff64
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 8:03 am

Re: Bypass mode not finding any PCs

Postby admin » Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:56 am

Did you set the correct subnet and netmask in active wall?
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 4:00 pm

Re: Bypass mode not finding any PCs

Postby biff64 » Thu Oct 06, 2011 3:01 pm

It looks like this was a problem with my laptop, or probably the NIC not supporting promiscuous mode.

I've used a different PC this evening and that is working fine.
biff64
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 8:03 am


Return to Questions & Answers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron